About RSM

About RSM:

Rashtriya Sanskriti Mahotsav (RSM) has been conceptualized in 2015 by Ministry of Culture under the aegis of Government of India to celebrate the spirit of Tradition, Culture, Heritage and Diversity of incredible India. The main objective of the cultural extravaganza is to preserve, promote and popularize the heritage, diversity and unity of Indian culture and reconnect the new generation. In view of that, four Rashtriya Sanskriti Mahotsav have been organized from 1 to 8 November, 2015 at IGNCA in New Delhi, 15 to 23 October, 2016 at IGNCA in New Delhi, 17 to 24 December, 2016 in Varanasi and 5 to 8 March, 2017 in Bengaluru.

The fifth ‘Rashtriya Sanskriti Mahotsav’ is being organized in North Eastern Region of India from 23 to 31 March, 2017. The biggest and prestigious cultural confluence is extended to other parts of North Eastern states like Dimapur (Nagaland), Majuli (Assam), Imphal (Manipur), Aizawl (Mizoram), Gangtok (Sikkim), Shillong (Meghalaya) and Khowai (Tripura). The essential thrust of Rashtriya Sanskriti Mahotsav – North East is to present rich diversity and uniqueness of Indian culture and bind the country in a single thread of culture and also to promote cultural inter-linkages amongst the people of North East India thereby strengthening National integration.

In the festival about 5,000 artists from North East India and 2,000 artists from across the country showcase India’s cultural heritage through folk and classical art forms in all its dimensions – dance, music, theatre and puppetry. A sanskritik yatra travels to almost 100 villages of North East India to interact with several communities thereby proliferating cultural exchange. Exhibition on Buddhist arts at Parade Ground showcase the splendour and magnificence of the cultural sphere. In the handicraft mela craftsmen from all over the country display and sell handicrafts to the general public. Chefs of traditional delicacies from different regions of the country treat the visitors to an unparalleled culinary experience.

The festival is being implemented through the seven Zonal Cultural Centres and other cultural organizations under Ministry of Culture, Government of India. The North East Zone Cultural Centre (NEZCC), Dimapur has been entrusted with the responsibility as the nodal agency to carry forward the execution of the national cultural festival of India. Each Zonal Cultural Centre has been provided with slots to present their art forms during the festival which would showcase an amalgamation of ‘Ek Bharat, Srestha Bharat’, ‘Hamaari Sanskriti, Hamaari Pehechaan’ and ‘Swachh India’.

The extended programme are convened at Holy Cross Auditorium in Dimapur from 26 to 28 March by South Zone Cultural Centre; Garmur Natya Mandir in Majuli from 27 to 29 March by Eastern Zonal Cultural Centre; JNMDA Complex in Imphal from 27 to 29 March by South Central Zone Cultural Centre; Vanapa Hall in Aizawl on 28 March, Mizoram University on 29 March and Sihphir in Mizoram on 30 March by North East Zone Cultural Centre; M.G. Road in Gangtok from 28 to 30 March by North Central Zone Cultural Centre; U Soso Tham Auditorium in Shillong from 29 to 31 March by North Zone Cultural Centre and New Town Hall in Khowai from 29 to 31 March by West Zone Cultural Centre.

march, 2017